Bechamel Sauce AKA white sauce

Dinner: Turkey Meatballs with White Rice and Bechamel Sauce

Being sick sucks for a lot of different reasons, some of which are the feeling lousy, looking lousy and being tired/ The one I am currently most tired of is being BORED. I don’t have a lot of energy, so I can’t go out and do anything, if I read, I’m probably going to fall asleep and I’m tired of watching TV. I’m just not the type of person that needs to be sick – I complain, I whine, it’s not a pretty picture. So since I didn’t have the homemade ingredients for a complete dinner, we used the “backup” food – frozen turkey meatballs from Trader Joe’s (just throw in the oven to defrost/cook). I also made white rice, which is easy to make – brown in a skillet, double the amount of water to rice and bring to a boil. Once it starts boiling, cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Easy breezy.

The sauce was what I was most excited about because really, who doesn’t like a good sauce? And like I said before, I was bored. But not only does it make you feel like you are eating out at a nice restaurant, it also makes you feel like you accomplished something in the kitchen – especially when you are “cooking” frozen meatballs.

And since I am not very good at my sauces yet, I brought out the handy-dandy red & white cookbook. For my birthday in 2007 my Grandma and Grandpa got me this: 
I refer to it often as it literally has everything in it: meat temperatures, conversions, substitutions, sauces, casseroles… you get the idea. So tonight for dinner, I decided to check out the sauces. Per Better Homes and Gardens, there are four types of sauces: Cornstarch-thickened, Egg-thickened, Reduction and Roux-thickened – I did the roux-thickened. And while reading about this, I actually learned that if you boil the sauce, some sort of chemical reaction happens and the butter will separate from the rest of the ingredients (this is what happened to my mushroom sauce a few weeks ago) which is why it is so important to constantly watch the heat and stir the sauce. I did that this time, and the sauce was perfect.

White Sauce/Bechamel Sauce:

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

Dash black pepper

1 1/2 cups milk

The only changes that I made were a little less milk, an extra tablespoon of butter and the addition of garlic and herbs de provence. In my opinion, the sauce went perfectly with the turkey meatballs and white rice. It added just enough of a creamy texture and flavor and I really enjoyed my dinner – of what I could taste anyway.

I apologize that the picture does not look appetizing… we are working on my food photography because clearly, this isn’t going to cut it.

One response to “Bechamel Sauce AKA white sauce

Leave a Reply

