I hope I still like that in 7 years

I recently heard that your body cells change every seven years, so basically every seven years, you are  a completely new person. It got me thinking, this also means that the cells in your mouth and taste buds are changing so maybe this is why something you didn’t like as a kid, you like now… just a thought. Something I didn’t like as a kid was pumpkin. Actually, up until a couple of years ago, I refused to go near the stuff but while I was in college working at D’Angelo Bakery, I tried Dietmar’s chocolate pumpkin bread that would barely stay on the shelves, and since then, I have gradually incorporated more pumpkin into my life each year.

Although I like to keep it simple – pumpkin bread or muffins, I feel like this is the year to finally try pumpkin pie or what I’m dying to make – pumpkin soup and serve it out of a shelled out pumpkin! Fall is my favorite time of year, did you guess that already? And even though the weather today was anything but fall-like, I made my way to the kitchen this evening and make pumpkin mini-loaves – with and without chocolate chunks by request of Brad.

Last year I was absolutely in love with Pillsubury’s Pumpkin Quick Bread and even though I have a few boxes stashed away in the cabinet (they ran out last year and I almost had a heart attack), I opted for homemade-ish pumpkin bread. (Since I’m using canned pumpkin, it seems weird to call it homemade).

First things first: I’m in the process of making a cork board to hold recipes while I cook. I want it to be mobile and I don’t want it to matter when it get’s dirty. I usually tape things to the cabinets but the paint is really starting to peel and I obviously can’t tape the computer to the cabinets so I tried out a different path tonight – the napkin recipe 🙂 So here it is:

The first four ingredients get mixed together and the last five dry ingredients get mixed together. After they are each mixed, slowly add them together. The mini-loaves or muffins take about 20-25 minutes and a regular sized loaves takes around 50 minutes. And as with everything, change as you see fit – add chocolate chunks, nuts, etc. The batter is the perfect shade of fall (and goes well with our countertops too)

The end result is also nice. Thanks for the mini-loaf pan Mom. I think this is the first time I have used it.

If any of my co-workers are reading this and you want to try it, leave me a comment and I’ll bring some in tomorrow.

4 responses to “I hope I still like that in 7 years

  • Dahlia

    I don’t want any of the bread (although I’m sure it’s very good), but I so want the mini loaf pan! I’ve got to get one. The cork board idea is great.

  • Kristi

    Wow that looks amazing. My favorite part of fall is all things pumpkin. I would say save some for me to eat but that would be a little difficult. Let me know how the pumpkin soup turns out and then we can make some when you come here. Ps my fav thing right now is pillsbury pumpkin quick bread– I just discovered it.

  • Catarina

    I, too, do not like pumpkin as a general rule, but I have found that once in a while something someone brings in the office tastes really good…so if it’s not too late for my comment post, I would love to try a slice. 🙂

  • Brad

    Pictures are looking good

Leave a Reply

