German Streusel

My best friend Kristi got me one of the greatest birthday gifts two years ago and sad to say, I never used all of them – but I didn’t get rid of them either. Whether it was not having all of the ingredients, the correct pan or I just didn’t see them on the shelves, somehow the mix for German Streusel was never used. I would like to think that part of this was because I didn’t have a springform pan. Actually, at one time I did, but when I recently went to look for it, I couldn’t find it – sorry grammie! So this afternoon I took a little shopping spree to Sur la Table and among other things, I found a set of three springform pans for $24 – quite a good deal. So now I am properly equipped to make Dr Oetker’s German Streusel (I believe this can be found at World Market but Kristi will have to confirm).

The preparation is easy enough: mix one egg and butter with the streusel and mix with the dough hook and kitchen aid – should only take a few minutes. Press majority of the mix into a 9 inch springform pan (greased, of course) and top with some sort of pie filling – I used apple. Cover the pie filling with the remaining mixture (should be crumbly) and pop in the oven for 45 minutes. Although this looked really good, when I think of streusel, I think of some sort of crumbly topping like a coffee cake so I also mixed brown sugar, raw sugar and some melted butter and also sprinkled on top of the leftover streusel mixture. When it came out of the oven, it looked and smelled heavenly and tasted even better.

I’m 2 for 2 today… now if only I could win the football pool this week…

One response to “German Streusel

  • Kristi

    Impressive. Your version looks way better than the picture on the box. Yes it is from World Market. I just have one concern… Are you sure it’s still edible after 2 years? Perhaps it’s like a fine wine, gets better over time 🙂

Leave a Reply

