Stuffed Pork Tenderloin

I don’t normally make pork and I claim to not like it even though that is basically a lie. For a split second when I hear the word pork, I think of the pork chops my mom made when I was a child and those, I actually do not like. I basically hate pork chops but pretty much love anything else – bacon, carnitas and more recently, pork tenderloin stuffed with all kinds of good stuff 🙂

My recent trip to the grocery store left me thinking of the week ahead and what I would make. And since I basically blog about everything I make, I tried to step up my game a little. So a lazy Sunday afternoon led to the following dinner:

Pork Tenderloin stuffed with brown and white mushrooms, spinach and chicken sausage (that is also stuffed with spinach and cheese)

Mashed Potatoes

Mushroom Sauce

The pork was pretty straightforward and although it was already cut into slices, I had to cut the middles in order to “stuff” them. The “stuffing” was brown and white mushrooms sliced and sauteed in butter along with spinach and the sausages (the sausages were leftover from pizza and I didn’t want to waste them and meat stuffed with more meat sounded great) and a handful of bread crumbs for good measure. After it was warm and well-mixed, I laid the pork so that it stood up and the hole was in the middle and opened to the top – this makes for easier stuffing. I spooned the mixture into the tenderloins and lined the pan with the remaining mixture. 350 for 45 minutes – they were perfect!

While the tenderloin cooked, I made the mashed potatoes (nothing special: garlic, butter, milk, potatoes and mix until creamy) and the mushroom sauce just as the tenderloin was finishing. I let the PT rest for about 7 minutes and finished up the sauce. The sauce was olive oil and butter heated in the pan and saute the mushrooms. Add 2 tablespoons of flour and 1/2 pint of milk (2 cups). Stir, stir, stir… and don’t try to hurry the sauce – I’ve done that, it is just ends up boiling and separating and it’s nowhere near as good as if you would have timed your meal correctly and slowly stirred over medium heat.

This meal was fairly easy to make and didn’t take any more time than a regular dinner but it was honestly, so good. I would almost claim restaurant quality, but my presentation definitely needs a lot of work. I must say though, while I was chopping and stuffing and stirring, Brad came in to look for a recipe and I didn’t have one (this scares him, by the way- not sure how after five years he thinks this will change). None of the recipes I found online had everything that I wanted to include so I just made sure that I had the cooking time right (I also have a meat thermometer and if I remember correctly, the inside needs to be around 155…) and went from there. Cooking, unlike baking, is a little easier to make up as you go along. I have found that when I take too many liberties in baking, nothing turns out. I might need to invest in a book that covers the science of baking – suggestions anyone?

Leave a Reply

