French Buttercream

I’ve been working a lot with buttercream, and as you know, the crisco kind is not my favorite, but in terms of decorating, as far as I know, it’s one of my best options. I recently discovered a recipe for French Buttercream and after one failed attempt last night, it worked… and I’m so glad it did because it was AMAZING! The French really are my favorite people (do you like that Catarina?).

So French Buttercream… as listed on the joepastry website and found through one of my favorite blogs, The Kitchn (thanks Whitney – I’m hooked)

6 egg yolks, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
1 pound unsalted, soft butter

Easy enough, right? Unfortunately, my first attempt didn’t work out and although I mixed until I thought my KitchenAid would explode, it never turned creamy and I couldn’t figure out why. Brad’s advice was to ask if I followed the recipe and on something like this, I could honestly say yes… at least I thought so. After re-reading the recipe with him, I discovered that I unintentionally added 1 1/4 cups of water instead of 1/4 cup of water – PROBLEM SOLVED!

Directions – beat the room temperature eggs yolks until frothy – about 5 minutes; meanwhile, boil the sugar and water mixture to 248F and add into the egg mixture slowly – alternate between adding and mixing. After all of the sugar water mixture is added, add in cut pieces of butter, mix until at room temperature. After it is mixed, add a pinch of salt and vanilla or other flavoring.


The next batch worked great. And I followed the advice of a comment that said to add a pinch of salt. I did, however forget to add vanilla at the end, but it just leaves it with a creamier, extra buttery flavor. I used this frosting to cover my cake and the original idea was to practice my decorating techniques that I learned with Lani, but that didn’t happen. Runny gel and frozen practice flowers later… we have a cake – although not a visually pleasing one.

And with the leftover cake that crumbled, I made mock cake balls. I say mock because they aren’t dipped in chocolate like the others and they also aren’t made the same way. They are delicious though and because I like the French Buttercream so much, I might like these more.

Mock Cake Balls

Cake, crumbled

Mix with French Buttercream until a creamy mixture

Roll into balls and cover with sanding sugar

4 responses to “French Buttercream

Leave a Reply

