Dinner with Friends

Sundays are always so relaxing. I usually call my grandma and talk food and discuss the previous week, I cook, I clean, I read, I watch TV – it’s always just a nice time. Today was no different… I even had a nice visit with friends. As we get older, it seems like time goes by faster and it’s filled with things that are not always “fun”. Today was really all about fun.

I had a nice, relaxing visit with Nicole and Sasha and made dinner with Brad, which we all ate, but with the girls banished to the other room because according to someone, we are “too noisy.” Hmph! We tried to eat outside, but the cool, damp air was just a little too much. Regardless, watching reality tv and hanging out with some of my girls was fantastic!

Dinner:

Macadamia Nut-crusted Fish

  • 4 (6 ounce) tilapia
  • 10 ounces macadamia nuts
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce – I used Cholula
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Combine all ingredients (except the fish) in the food processor and spoon over the fish. Broil on low for 15 minutes. I accidentally broiled on high and after 10 minutes, they were charred. Luckily, they were somewhat salvageable. I won’t share a picture but I could definitely tell through some of the burn, that is was a good recipe and I will definitely do it right next time.

Now, on to the good stuff… We finally got to use the tortilla press and unfortunately, it didn’t live up to its expectations.

Not sure if it was the muscles or it’s just not a good one, but I would say that a trip to Sur La Table is due this week. Fortunately, we didn’t let that stop us and we continued our tag team effort of making tortillas. And by tag team I mean Brad did most of the work and I flipped them on the stove.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons lard
  • 1 1/2 cups water

Mix the ingredients and roll out on a floured surface. Heat in a medium skilled for about one minute on each side. After a few thick ones, we got the consistency down and they were delicious – much better than the stuff you buy in the grocery store – and you know exactly what is in them, which is much better than preservatives and other junk.

Anyway, that was dinner and it was yummy. Try making homemade tortillas on your own – it’s really much easier than you think.

One response to “Dinner with Friends

Leave a Reply

