Pumpkin Cheesecake

Tis the season for everything pumpkin… I said that recently and unfortunately I haven’t lived up to it. Tomorrow is our IT guy’s birthday and he is allergic to both chocolate and peanuts and he informed me that he would like nothing more than a pumpkin cheesecake… ok!

I’ve never made cheesecake before. Not even the fake mix kind. I’ve eaten lots though – both real and not so real. So tonight I tried my hand at the real. Martha Stewart’s recipe can be found here. As always, I modified, but just a little. I added about 1/4 more to both the graham cracker and sugar in the crust and about 2 tablespoons more for the butter. I also learned that the best way to smooth the crust is to pile in with a metal spoon and just run over in circles. My crust turned out very nice.

The directions were a little tricky and I am always curious as to what is overbeating. According to Martha, the trick to avoid the crack is to not overbeat and not open the oven while it’s cooking… so here I wait… after it cooks for 45 minutes you are supposed to turn off the oven and let it sit in there for another 2 hours. After that I will cover it and set it in the refrigerator over night. Hopefully it will be ready in the morning 🙂 In the meantime, here is a little sneak peak. If my oven was cleaner, maybe you would be able to see it better, I doubt it though.

The goal was to make homemade whipping cream to go with it but I’m starting to fade… I’m sure I’ll get another wind though, it’s only 9. Check back tomorrow for a picture of the final product and a secret project I’m working on. Whitney, you created a monster!!!

2 responses to “Pumpkin Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

