Banana Bread

Every couple of months I call my grandma and ask her to send me a recipe… again. My problem with tracking recipes is that I don’t. I write them on scraps of papers, napkins, whatever is lying around and then I usually toss them or put them in a “safe place” never to be found again. This is an anomaly to me because I am very organized in all other aspects of my life. Lately I have been stashing my “scraps” in a recipe box. Once I have the time, make the time or make someone else do it, I will have all of my recipes neatly complied. Right now, it just doesn’t seem important.

This was $1 at Michaels, by the way. One of my favorite things to do at lunch is go to Michaels and see what sort of $1 crap treasures I can find. 🙂

Banana Bread (as received from my Grandma, numerous times)

1 1/2 C. flour

1 1/2 t. baking powder

1/4 t. baking soda

1/4 t. cinnamon

1 egg

3 mashed bananas

3/4 c. sugar

1/4 c. oil (can be substituted for same amount of applesauce)

As with anything, add chocolate, nuts, dried fruit – make it your own. Unfortunatley this recipe didn’t have any sort of cooking instructions (this is very common) but 350 for 30 minutes in the mini-loaf pan was perfect. I would assume for a loaf you would need about 45-50 minutes to cook through. If you are unsure, check after 30 and gauge it from there.

Personally, I don’t like banana bread, but Brad does. And he has become particularly fond of the mini-loafs. One batch (which would also make one regular loaf) makes 9 mini-loaves. Perfect! … that should last him until Monday…

There wasn’t a lot of cooking today. The Rangers won so we went out to dinner to celebrate. I did make lunch though – BLTA’s. Mmmmmmm.

Oh, and I didn’t forget about the surprise. But I decided that I don’t want to tell you until I have it all figured out. So I am hoping to share the news with everyone at the end of the week.

One response to “Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

