Chicken Tortilla Soup

My dad makes a very good chicken tortilla soup… or so I heard. About three years ago I finally decided to try it for myself because that’s when I was really started making it a point to try new foods. And it turns out, despite all that red you see (red food joke… do you get it?), I really did like it. Similar to making chili, it involves a lot of cans which kind of bothers me, but it tastes so good I let it go. Here it is:

Chicken Tortilla Soup

3 – chicken breasts

1 – onion

1- tablespoon minced garlic

1 – large can of chicken broth (or 4 small ones works also)

1 – 15 oz. can of tomato sauce

1 – small can of el pato tomato sauce only use half

1 – 15 oz. can of stewed tomato ’ s I use the one with mild green chili ’ s

1 – package of corn tortillas (the lazy substitution is a bag of chips)

1-2 avocados

Shredded Cheese

Broil or bake the chicken (preference); brown the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil; add in all cans and bring to a boil; simmer for a few minutes and then pour over chopped avocado, crumbled chips and top with cheese. MMMMMMM. A nice, warm meal for these perfect rainy days.

 

3 responses to “Chicken Tortilla Soup

Leave a Reply

