Haunted House FINALEEEEEE

Today I finished not only my haunted house, but also my 6 week Wilton Decorating class. At the end of class I received this:

GO ME!!! I’m pretty sure bakeries aren’t going to come knock my door down, but I definitely feel more confident in my cupcakes and basic decorating skills than I did before (see Cupcakes, Cupcakes, Cupcakes for proof). I had a lot of fun in this class (despite my complaining) and I’m sad that I will not be able to move on to the “real” cooking class… you know, the one that takes place in a kitchen, deals with chocolate and other desserts… maybe when I don’t have to work for the man… However, I can’t be too sad because Lani will be teaching this course again and I will be taking it. Mixed in with all of the beginners, anyone who took this place will then move on to Wilton’s Gum Paste and Fondant Series – WOO to the HOO!!

So last week you saw the humble beginnings of my house, this week, the finished project:

I had such a great time doing this. A few tips for those of you who might want to do them:

– They are only $9.99 at Michael’s – if that seems expensive, use a coupon. It’s easier than making the gingerbread yourselves; besides, that isn’t the fun part anyway

– Be creative with the “candy”. People in my class used cookies, pretzels, chocolate molds – you really can use anything

– Let it dry. My candy corn roof started getting heavy and the entire roof started to fall. I had to stop, add more frosting glue and hold it in place. 10 full minutes on each side is sufficient to really get it into place

– Don’t use the royal icing that comes in the package… unless you really want to. Lani’s recipe for royal icing:

4 Tablespoons meringue powder

1/3 – 1/2 cup lukewarm water

1 lb sifted powdered sugar

The key to royal icing is everything needs to be grease-free – the spoons, your tips and bags – everything. It doesn’t work well with grease (did I hear crisco?) and buttercream residue. Mix for about 10 minutes and you should be good to go. If the icing starts to get runny and lose its shape, beat it for a few minutes until it is well mixed and puffy again.

There you have it folks! I hope you enjoyed hearing about Lani and cake decorating class. I have 6 weeks to convince Sarah to take the next one with me, otherwise, I’m on my own. Hopefully some of the familiar faces will be back (even though I never talked to any of them) and I can make some friends. I will leave you with photos from my classmates:

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Haunted House FINALEEEEEE

Leave a Reply

