Anna’s Chocolate Cake (aka chocolate sheet cake)

Other than Swiss Pastry Shop’s Black Forest Cake, this is Brad’s other favorite cake. BFC is in a league all its own and is hard to make, so it doesn’t get made very often (by me, I mean. SPS makes it all of the time and I’m pretty sure it’s the state cake, or at least the city’s cake). This, although a little more work to make than a cake mix, is pretty easy to make and the first time I had it was last year when I was staying in Texas over the holidays. It’s kind of funny how Kathy (Brad’s mom) can make a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting AND sprinkles – all thing I love to do with cupcakes, and Brad loves it. I make it and he says, too much chocolate; I don’t like sprinkles… oh a son’s love for his mother!

Anna’s Chocolate Cake

2 sticks butter

1 C. water

1/4 C. cocoa

Mix the above three ingredients in a pan over low heat until melted. Set aside to cool. Add:

2 C. flour

2 C. sugar

Mix well.

Add the following ingredients, mixing well after each addition:

2 eggs

1/2 C. buttermilk (if you don’t have buttermilk, an easy substitute is to pour 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar into a 1 C. measuring cup and fill the rest with milk; let sit for 5 minutes, use as needed)

1 t. baking soda

1 t. vanilla

This fills a 9×13 pan. Cook at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Mind turned out with a weird “X” thing on the top, and I’m not sure if it’s from my oven or because I didn’t really follow the directions when mixing the ingredients (shocking, I know)- good thing it is being covered in yummy frosting.

Frosting:

1 stick butter

1/4 C. cocoa

1/4 C. buttermilk

2 C. powdered sugar

Heat the butter, cocoa and buttermilk over low heat; add the powdered sugar and beat well. Ideal to spread over the cake while it’s still warm.

Hopefully the picture doesn’t make it less appetizing.

And after my decorating class and my first use of a stencil, you get this:

The “happy halloween” is melted chocolate that I was practicing with on wax paper. I wrote a few things (also how I did the MAMA BULLDOG cupcakes) and bagged them for later use. Perfect because I don’t like reusing the chocolate and I also don’t like wasting it. Anytime you have leftover melted chocolate, practice making cupcake toppers or other embellishments for things that are coming up (I have a great one that I can’t wait to share). The cat is a stencil I found on one of Martha Stewart’s many websites. I have to admit, I passed on the four stencil scarecrow because I knew it would be more work that I wanted. Once stencil was fine with me, thank you very much. The cat is done in buttercream (what else) and covered in black dusting sugar.

Good thing I like Halloween.

Leave a Reply

