Food for Fuel

Yesterday and today were very busy with a lot of food preparation – thankfully my mom came up to help… I couldn’t have done it without her. Lee, Brad’s dad came out from Texas to do the Santa Barbara Century ride today – it was awesome. Not only did they finish their 100 km in a good time, they had the stamina to hang out in our courtyard for a good five hours visiting with our friends & family. All in all, a pretty good day but it’s safe to say that everyone is pretty tired.

Although I did a lot of cooking, I have to recognize my dad for AMAZING tri-tip. I don’t care what anyone says, no one’s tri-trip is better than my dad’s. In addition to tri-tip, we had:

chicken skewers

pinto beans

rice casserole

corn & flour tortillas

chips, salsa, guacamole, queso

fruit salad

green salad

cold pasta salad – this is yummy (I’ll post the recipe below)

celery & carrots

pumpkin cheesecake

chocolate cupcakes with buttercream frosting – I cannot get enough of this frosting- mmmmmmmm!

A lot of food, a lot of fun, friends, family… what a great day. And congratulations to Carl, Kevin and Lee. And Brad, you did awesome – I am so proud of you. Maybe I’ll do it with you next year… maybe.

Cold Pasta Salad

Noodles (linguine, rotini… anything you want)

Zesty Italian Dressing

Salad Supreme

Feta

Black Olives

Artichokes

Sun-dried tomatoes

Cook pasta, as directed, coat with zesty italian dressing and salad supreme; refrigerate overnight. The following day, add more dressing, as needed and add chopped veggies and cheese. You can use the veggies of your choice the ones I listed above are my personal favs. This cold pasta dish is always a favorite and easy to make.

Leave a Reply

