Burn Baby, Burn

No, that was not what happened to any of my food today – fortunately. That is, however, what was happening to my friend Nicole’s legs as she completed her first half marathon – way to go Nic! (I tried to post a picture of her but she didn’t have one – WTF?) So after pounding the pavement for more than 13 miles, what better way to celebrate than to stuff your face with yummy carne asada and cupcakes? Nicole’s exercise counted for all of us, right? I hope so.

I tried two new recipes for today and unfortunately they fell a little short. The Red Velvet was very dense and a little dry, possibly from overcooking and the Pumpkin deflated and was a little sticky and chewy… not exactly sure what I did wrong. I won’t share the recipes since they didn’t work for me but I will accept any recipes that work and you feel like sharing. I will, however, share the cream cheese buttercream frosting that Martha Stewart shared with me.

Cream Cheese Buttercream

1 pkg (8 oz) cream cheese

1 stick unsalted butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 lb (approx 4 cups) powdered sugar

Use the paddle attachment, mix and enjoy!

Red Velvet Cupcake with Cream Cheese Frosting, sprinkled with ground Oreos

Pumpkin Cupcake with Cream Cheese Frosting and orange sprinkles

They didn’t taste very good, but at least they looked pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

