Cheesy Baked Grits

I’m not from Texas, but my boyfriend is. And I had a really good friend in college who was also from Texas. They are both friends and subsequently both of my interactions with grits have been with them. In the past two years I have had them twice and I’ll be honest – I LOVE THEM!

Two Christmases ago I tried them for the very first time at Brad’s Aunts house. She was nice enough to share her recipe. Last year I attended my friends wedding who was kind enough to share them with everyone – in little paper cups and with shrimp, no less!

So, it’s fair to say that I am a fan. Unfortunately, they aren’t something I think about a lot (although I do think about food… a lot) and never anything that I have just happened upon at the grocery store, which is why I haven’t made them, until today! I was going through my “food & recipes” folder in my email, trying to clean it out, and I ran across the recipe. They have been on my mind for three days and all I have wanted to do is eat them. My very nice boyfriend was nice enough to hunt them down at the grocery store…

in the cereal isle. This was all I could find. I’m sure there are other kind, but for my purposes today, these will work just fine!

Ok, so here is the recipe:

– 1 cup uncooked grits – prepare as directed (in my case, open “oatmeal-esque” package, add 1/4 cup milk and pop in the micro)

– 2 cups grated cheese – I used smoked gouda and fontina

– 1/2 cup butter

Stir the cheese and butter in the cooked grits.

– 6 eggs

– 1/4 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon salt

Whisk the eggs, milk and salt together. Gradually add the hot grits.

Pour the mixture into a 13×9, lightly greased baking dish. Cook at 350 for 30 minutes.

Top with more sprinkled cheese (I also added cooked turkey bacon) and paprika (I forgot this), cook an additional 10-20 minutes.

YUMMMMMM. Although it was delicious, I think it was lacking something… maybe pepper. I’ll try again and let you know. Definitely still worth trying though.

One response to “Cheesy Baked Grits

Leave a Reply

