What A Girl Wants

Last night was date night – but not with Brad. My friend Nicole and I had a proper date night – high heels and all! And it was really fun. We went to Blush, a swanky restaurant downtown, which quite frankly, doesn’t appear to belong in sleepy, casual Santa Barbara. Nonetheless, it has great food, a nice atmosphere and last night, particularly great music. Despite my slow walk down State Street in my awesome gold shoes (I wear them without the ankle strap)

we managed to make it in time for happy hour, which means really great prices. And by really great prices, I mean $6 a plate. We shared the following three starters:

– Filet Mignon Bites with two sauces: horseradish (which I didn’t know that I liked!) and an Asian BBQ (OMG – so delicious!)

– Parsley Truffle Fries with a lemon aioli sauce – I’m not sure that I can stress my love for anything truffle … and the lemon aioli – WOW. It was honestly, a party in my mouth.

– Mushroom, arugula and shaved parmesean flatbread

I’ve been here on one other occasion, and I have to mention the Lobster Mac-n-Cheese because it was also amazing. I have yet to taste bad food from this place and I suppose that’s why it has lasted when so many other places are shutting down. I hope this place stays and I really hope I get to go for brunch one morning (hint hint) – the crabs benedict is calling my name.

 

Thanks for the great time Nicco! I’ll go back ANYTIME!

Leave a Reply

