Breaking in Knives and Banana Bread

So I finally broke in my yellow Kuhn Rikon knife. How? You may ask? By slicing the crap out of my thumb. A good knife is never fully broken in until you have lost a finger – or part of one, in my case. My left thumb is no longer rounded at the top but instead is lacking a good chunk of the “roundy” part. It will grow back (I hope). Oh, and in case you are wondering how this came to be, I was cutting a sandwich in half. Yep! That’s it. It wasn’t when I was slicing onions, tomatoes, cheese or avocados or actually anything cool. I was merely cutting my sandwich half when I nearly lost half of my thumb. It is currently bandaged and I’m wincing in pain as I type šŸ™‚ kidding

Ok, I made the second recipe from my BabyCakes cookbook (first was red velvet cupcakes but I haven’t posted it yet). If you like moist, yummy banana bread that happens to be wheat-free, gluten-free and sugar-free, you should definitely try this. If I wouldn’t have told you all of that and just had you taste it, I bet you would have liked it. I feel like making it every day, because yes, our loaf was gone in a day and a half.

Ingredients – HINT, you probably have to go to the store – and I’m talking Whole Foods, Central Market, Lazy Acres kind of store

2 cups baking flour (Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-free)

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon xanthan gum

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup coconut oil (plus more for the pan)

2/3 cup agave nectar

2/3 cup rice milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups mashed bananas

 

DIRECTIONS – the short version

Oven 325

Grease a loaf pan with coconut oil

Whisk together the dry ingredients in one bowl and add each of the wet ingredients, one at a time, stirring between. Gently fold in the mashed bananas.

This batter will make 2 loaves but I don’t suggest halving the recipe. If you don’t need two loaves, you can store the second bit of batter in the fridge for a day or two, otherwise, make two loaves and freeze the other. Erin’a directions for cooking are to rotate the pan 180 degrees after 20 minutes and cook an additional 35 after. I actually had to cook for another 10 (but my oven has been kind of screwy lately, so … just keep an eye on it, is my suggestion). Let it rest in the pan for 20 minutes after cooking and then enjoy!

SUGGESTION:

Because a certain someone in our household (hint: it’s not Bella) has a GIGANTIC sweet tooth, I drizzled the second loaf with agave nectar on the top before baking. I really think this added to the flavor and gave it a darker, richer color too, which I thought was nice. If you like sweet things, you may want to try that. I enjoyed it both with and without butter but warm from the oven was the best way.

Leave a Reply

