Heaven In A Biscuit

This is why I bake. Seriously.

When something turns out so wonderfully delicious and perfect, it makes me so happy. And then I know that I want to keep trying new things and pushing my limits.*By the way, if you read my Denver posts, you may notice a similar resemblance to the Pao de Queijo served at Fogo de Chao – they are very, very similar. I would say that the main difference is the type of cheese used, which, you could actually use any kind you want. Not that these were bad, but I’m looking forward to asiago and fontina… MMMMMMM

Today I received an email from DailyCandy like I do every other day but this time, I actually made it. This caught my attention and turned out so well, I might have to go back and look at the older ones I have saved for later. It all started like this:

Nicole has been craving meat, mainly ribs, but brisket as well. This craving has been going on for well over a week now, and so we decided to do something about it (I’m waiting for as I type this). After work, she is bringing over ribs and we are going to BBQ, sit by the firepit and admire our lovely puppy Bella 🙂 Ahhhh, the sweet life! I have been preparing for this BBQ all day preparing Gram’s Potato Salad (the only one I will eat), a yummy green salad with raspberries and almonds and Chef Ludo Lefebvre’s French-Style Cheese Puffs (from the blog). At first I was really excited about the potato salad, but then I tried the “biscuits” and for the first time in my life, the potato salad isn’t my first priority (I’M SORRY GRAM – but seriously, make these). I will be enjoying all of it, however, including the ribs and s’mores that Stacy is bringing.

Gram’s Potato Salad (she actually uses onions but since I despise raw onions, she made it without once, since then, I’ve been hooked!)

Potatoes: peel, cut and boil until soft; cool

Eggs: hard boil (see my perfect HB recipe here), cool, peel and cut

Mix the eggs and potatoes together; add mayo, mustard, salt and pepper as desired. Refrigerate. Eat, and repeat (the eating part). As with most foods that I really, REALLY like, it is so simple but the taste is delicious – quesadillas, grilled cheese sandwiches, mashed potatoes, tomato soup (these are my favorite foods) … they are easy, but they work and there are so many “twists” you can add to them.

Ok, on to the French-Style Cheese Puffs (by the way friends, I will be making these for Angie’s Superbowl Party):

Leave a Reply

