I am not the Muffin Man

naturally

Muffins are delicious. In fact, I would go as far as saying that are as good as cupcakes. They may not be as light, but sometimes a dense, naturally sweet morsel of goodness sans the icing is just what you need. And beats the heck out of eating a donut (although I still would like to make the “healthy” donut recipe I received a few months back).

After watching the sun rise with Bella, I was bored and she was napping, so I decided to make some muffins. Brad was still sleeping so I thought, what a great treat to wake up to in the morning (yes, I really am that nice!). I was really in the mood for a cranberry almond muffin, but after searching the cabinets, cranberries were not to be found. And a new puppy and sleeping boyfriend don’t make for an easy trip to the grocery store. So, as Bethenny Frankel would say, use what you have. (BTW, I was a fan of this before she started saying it ๐Ÿ™‚ Just sayin’)

Sooooo, we have, white chocolate chip and almond muffins. Mmmmm. I based my “base mix” from the 1 Mix, 100 Muffins book (you can buy it here or keep reading for the recipe):

Here is the basic mix – you can add anything you want to the mix. I find that fruits and nuts are the easiest. When you get into the savory muffins, which the book has, they call for things like sour cream or corn meal, which isn’t hard to add, but sometimes isn’t always on hand and personally, I can’t really improvise on ingredients like that. I don’t know the difference of adding milk vs buttermilk or sour cream or what have you.

2 Cups Flour

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 Teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of salt

1/2 Cup sugar (or brown sugar)

2 Eggs

1 Cup milk

6 Tablespoons sunflower oil or melted, cooled butter

1 Teaspoon vanilla

So that’s the basic. The book is broken into sections of indulgent, savory, sweet, celebratory, etc. It’s actually a good buy for less than $10. So as I am typing the recipe, I realize I forgot to add the butter. Now this could solve one of my problems OR, it could have just saved on some calories. Either way, the muffins still worked. The one problem I did encounter was the paper cups sticking to the muffins – so not cool, but that could have been from the lack of butter or oil, not sure. But apart from that, I added white chocolate chips and slivered almonds to the mix. I also sprinkled with raw sugar and a few more almonds before popping them in the oven.

400 degrees for about 20 minutes. Consume while warm and with coffee, is preferred ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

