Girls Dinner Party

Two weeks ago I sent out this invitation to “the girls”:

Which resulted in this:

With a menu of this:

All in all, it was a really great night. I wish I had more pictures to share, but unfortunately they suck. Hopefully CHOLA IN PARADISE will blog later when she’s recovered from her food coma šŸ™‚

I must admit, I couldn’t have done this without my sous chef Brad. He was amazing and helped me every step of the way.

French Onion Soup:

6 large onions, peeled and thinly sliced

a few teaspoons of sugar

2 cloves garlic, minced

8-10 cups beef stock

1 cup dry vermouth (or dry white wine)

salt and pepper

herbs de provence

olive oil

Sautee the onions in olive oil, add the sugar and add garlic, sautee for 40 + minutes. Add the beef stock, dry vermouth and seasonings. I served with slices of a french baguette and a gruyere and parm chip. For the chip, shred 2/3 parts gruyere and 1/3 part parmesan. Add a small handful of cheese in a hot pan, cook until cheese starts to bubble and starts to crisp on the side. Flip and cook the other side.

Steak Frites:

Brad cooked the filets on the grill outside – they were perfection. Giant, juicy, tender steaks… mmmmmm. The steak frites were sliced yukon gold potatoes fried in vegetable oil seasoned with salt and pepper.

Now, DESSERT!! I have been dreaming about this cake since I first saw it on the blog. I was actually a bit surprised that I pulled it off and when I realized I did, I almost shed a tear in sheer happiness. I love it when things turn out. Anyway, I could write another five paragraphs explaining the cake, but instead I will show you where I found it – I Am Baker Blog. You will find everything you need here. This is the white cake recipe I used and I ended up using my traditional buttercream recipe because I ran out of time for my french buttercream. It was still really good and I have to admit, I used a little bit of lemon frosting courtesy of Betty Crocker šŸ˜¦ Ahhhh! I know, don’t kill me. Everything else was homemade though and the lemon frosting was only one small layer. Anyway, here it is:

Even Bella couldn’t resist…

I had such a great time. Thank you Brad for all of you help and thanks girls for being such great friends, wonderful company, always willing to eat my food and being on time!

One response to “Girls Dinner Party

Leave a Reply

