Sables with Caramel Glaze

One of my friend/co-workers texted me the other day and asked if I would be interested in receiving this:

I immediately responded yes because I could hear Brad now if I would have passed this up… What??!! Woman, are you crazy? I LOVE COOKIES!! And because I know this, I said yes. So upon my arrival back to work on Friday, it was sitting on my desk begging for me to run out of work, go home and cook something. Although I didn’t do that, I did make something today.

Sables with Caramel Glaze

1 3/4 C flour

pinch of salt

1 2/3 C powder sugar

1/2 C sweet butter, chilled and diced

3 egg yolks

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg yolk, for glazing

Caramel Syrup

1/4 C sugar

4 teaspoons water

1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

1/4 C water

Make the syrup first. Mix the first three ingredients and cook over medium heat until bubbly and dark in color. Remove from heat, place the pan in a bowl of cool water to stop cooking and add remaining water. Let cool.

For the cookies –

Mix the flour, salt and butter in a food processor and then add the yolks and vanilla to form a dough. Chill the dough for 15 minutes. Roll the dough less than 1/4 inch thick and cut with a 3 inch fluted cookie cutter.

Add the egg yolk to the cookie mixture and brush over cookies. Run a fork over the cookies to add a pattern. Bake at 350 for 12 minutes.

Although the cookies were really yummy and had that shortbread/buttery taste to them, I wouldn’t be opposed to sprinkling cinnamon & sugar over some or even adding a fruit glaze. A thicker, longer cookie could also act as a great coffee dipping cookie.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Sables with Caramel Glaze

Leave a Reply

