Veal Scallopini

My Secret Santa (Sheena) got me a really great cookbook from Trattoria Grappolo for Christmas (see post) and I’ve yet to try all of the wonderful things in it. Tonight, however, I did and I’m pretty sure I could be cooking in the restaurant with this! It was wonderful.

My substitutions:

bacon for prosciutto (I would have done pancetta had I had it) – and I cubed it rather than strips

baby bella mushrooms for champignon

extra chicken stock for the white wine

goat cheese for fontina cheese (only because I didn’t have it because I LOVE fontina! goat was a great substitution though)

I also didn’t bake it because really, that was just an extra 15 minutes of cooking and I was ready to eat. If you top the veal with the cheese at the very end, you will get a nice melted cheese on top just as if you had put it in the oven. So really, it’s your call… do you want to eat now or later?

Leave a Reply

