Mojito Pound Cake

Oh yeah, you read that right. Even Bella wanted in on some of this action –

I found this recipe last night while flipping through “Cakelove”, one of the books that Brad got me for Christmas. The recipe (including pictures) takes up four full pages so I definitely will not be typing it out. If you want the recipe, email me (angelina.ralston@gmail.com) and I will scan it to you. It’s a good one and I totally don’t mind.

Dry Ingredients: mix all together in bowl

2 1/4 C flour

1/4 C potato starch

1 t salt

1/4 t vanilla powder

1/4 t baking soda

3 whole cloves (I used 6 because they are so small)

1/3 C oven-dried mint (the next time I make this, I think I will use non-dried mint – the mint flavor wasn’t as strong as we would have liked)

Wet Ingredients: mix all together in a bowl

2/3 C sour cream

1/4 C half and half

3 T dark rum

2 t vanilla extract

1 t molasses

1 t limoncello

1 lime

Creaming:

2 sticks unsalted butter

2 1/4 C sugar

2 t lime zest

Cream together. One at a time add:

4 eggs

2 egg yolks

[the non-alcohol version, if anyone is interested: I left out the rum and limoncello and instead added an extra teaspoon of molasses and 3 tablespoons of mojito mix (Brad’s favorite)]

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes – will make two 9 inch rounds

 

I opted out of Warren Brown’s Italian Rum Buttercream and made my own:

Mojito Buttercream

1 stick unsalted butter

6 C powdered sugar

1 t vanilla

1/3 C mojito mix

2-3 t whipping cream

I also added coconut to the buttercream for the middle layer.

This cake involved a lot of steps – drying mint, zesting, mixing, mortar and pestling (although I didn’t do that)… it was fun to make and even better that it turned out. I was worried that Brad’s high standards for mojito’s would take over my cake, but it didn’t. Yeah!

Leave a Reply

